About Me: Pets

Odette
Odette

Having grown up on a farm, my life has always been full of pets. At one point in my life, we have 8 dogs, three horses, 15 chickens and 1 cockatiel. That was a busy house! I couldn’t imagine my life without pets. When I was sixteen years old, I went on exchange for 6 weeks to Berlin. It was an amazing experience and I came back home entirely altered with a new confidence and assurance that whatever life threw at me, I’d be able to handle it. It was also 6 weeks where for the first time in my whole life, I had absolutely no contact with animals. There were no cats or dogs in the apartment I was staying in and no neighbour’s pets to bond with. I was forced to go cold turkey and it just felt… wrong.

Molly
Molly

Animals had always been a huge part of my life and for the first time, I had none. By the fourth week away, my eyes would seek out any pet dog walking along the street and I was dying to visit the Berlin Zoo just to spend some time with animals. When I finally got home, all I wanted was a nap in my own bed and cuddle with my dog, Tiffany.

Currently, my house is a little bit of a menagerie – although let’s be honest, it’s always a menagerie. I have two cats and 1 cockatiel (yep the same one from several years ago). My dog, Molly, is currently living on my Dad’s farm, and loving life. She is 13 years old and so fit. She does not look 13! My sisters’ two cats also live with me, which makes it for a very busy house.

Juno
Juno

I still couldn’t imagine my life without my pets and I know that I will probably always have a menagerie at home. Just to be clear, I’m not one of those people who refer to them as my babies and carry them around like a child. Having parents involved in the Veterinary Industry meant that we were taught from an early age how to treat them well but also as the animals they are.

So, today, I’d love to hear from you. Do you have pets at the moment? If not, did you have them growing up? Tell me about them!

Leave a Reply

